U17 Girls 7s

Australian Women's Team

2018 Program Information

The Tasmanian U17 Girls Sevens team will contest the National Championships in Brisbane from Thursday 6th December – Sunday 9th December. The team will play at Ballymore and will stay at Nudgee College.

In 2018 the U17 Girls are also in a pilot program with the Tasmanian Institute of Sport who are providing gym access and S&C coaching.

This is the first time Tasmanian teams have been able to enter the National Youth 7s Champs and it is a very exciting time for youth rugby in Tasmania. The Australian Youth 7s teams are selected from this tournament so there is a clear pathway for our talented local girls.

Player Nominations
To be considered for this team you must nominate yourself here

Team Staff
Coach – Caitlin Ryan
Tour Manager – Katherine O’Donnell (Harlequins)
Development Coach – Lauryn Cooper (Tamar Valley Vixens)
Tour Paramedic – Klaire Carrick (Taroona)

Training Schedule
Mid-week training sessions will be held in Hobart on Wednesdays at Rugby Park with the other teams from 6.30pm-7.30pm. Mid-week trainings will also be held in Launceston (day TBC), and Devonport (Monday 4.30pm-5.30pm Meercroft Park) up until the tournament.

In November we will also have weekly state wide team trainings. The confirmed training schedule is:

Monday 15th October, Meercroft Park Devonport, 4.30-5.30pm
Wednesday 17th October, Hobart Rugby Park, 6.30-7.30pm
Monday 22nd October, Meercroft Park Devonport, 4.30-5.30pm
Wednesday 24th October, Hobart Rugby Park, 6.30-7.30pm
Monday 29th October, Meercroft Park Devonport, 4.30-5.30pm
Wednesday 31st October, Hobart Rugby Park, 6.30-7.30pm
Friday 2nd November – Club 7s games, Hobart
Saturday 3rd November, Hobart Rugby Park 10.00am-12.00pm
Monday 5th November, Meercroft Park Devonport, 4.30-5.30pm
Wednesday 7th November, Hobart Rugby Park, 6.30-7.30pm
Friday 9th November – Club 7s games, Hobart
Saturday 10th November, Burnie (with NW 7s Tournament) Time TBC
Monday 12th November, Meercroft Park Devonport, 4.30-5.30pm
Wednesday 14th November, Hobart Rugby Park, 6.30-7.30pm
Friday 16th November – Club 7s games, Hobart
Saturday 17th November, Devonport (with NW 7s Tournament) Time TBC
Monday 19th November, Meercroft Park Devonport, 4.30-5.30pm
Wednesday 21st November, Hobart Rugby Park, 6.30-7.30pm
Friday 23rd November – Club 7s games, Hobart
Saturday 24th and Sunday 25th November – U15s Boys and Girls tournament vs South Australia, U17 Girls and Boys, and Men’s inter-squad trials HOBART
Monday 26th November, Meercroft Park Devonport, 4.30-5.30pm
Wednesday 28th November, Hobart Rugby Park, 6.30-7.30pm
Friday 30th November – Club 7s games, Hobart
Saturday 1st December, Location TBC
Monday 3rd December, Meercroft Park Devonport, 4.30-5.30pm
Wednesday 5th December, Hobart Rugby Park, 6.30-7.30pm

For further information please contact us

 

2017 U17 Girls Sevens Program Report

2017 saw the re-establishment of the Tasmanian U17 Girls 7s team after a number of years without a junior girls rep program.

The team traveled with the Senior Tasmanian Women’s 7s team on a 5-day tour to New South Wales.  The girls started their tour in Sydney, playing two matches against the Maroubra Magic on their synthetic pitch. For some girls this was the first competitive rugby match they had ever played, and many made their first tackles against a very experienced opposition.

On the Friday the team traveled to the new Rugby Australia HQ building at Moore Park and had a tour of the indoor training pitch, gym, and recovery facilities that the Australian Men’s and Women’s 7s team use. They then went out to a local field to watch the Australian Women’s 7s team train. After the training session the players were very generous with their time and took photos with the Tasmanian girls. Meeting the national team provided further inspiration for the matches ahead. On the Friday afternoon the Tasmanian teams started their 5-hour journey to Wagga Wagga.

Saturday was the first day of serious matches, as the girls took on the formidable ACT and Victorian Girls 7s teams. They played each team twice over the day and improved their confidence after every match, until they scored their first try in the final match of the day.

Sunday was the final match day, the team was battered and bruised but played well in their final match of the tour against the Victorian team. Following the match the group made the long trip back to Sydney to fly home, tired and sore but with wonderful memories and inspired to work hard to improve in 2018.

2017 U17 Girls 7s Team
Meesa Albert (Taroona)
Asia Dare (Glenorchy)
Emily Pregnell (Taroona)
Madelyn Pregnell (Taroona)
Catrina Tranent (Launceston)
Matilda Grant (Taroona)
Lily O’Donnell (Fahan)
Verity Reid (Taroona)
Georgia Sayers (Taroona)
Emma Painter (Taroona)