Senior Men’s 7s

9mnffReu_aZHkBifivT-J-Qiyrn60tJaw3xfoCHI_HM

2018 Program Information

The Tasmanian Senior Men’s Sevens team will contest the National Championships in Brisbane from Thursday 6th December – Sunday 9th December. The team will play at Ballymore and will stay at Ashfield. 

Player Nominations
To be considered for this team you must nominate yourself here

Team Staff
Men’s Coach – Fale Aleto (Harlequins)
Tour Manager – Katherine O’Donnell (Harlequins)
Development Coach – Ivan Meaclem (Harlequins)
Tour Physio – Evan Clayton

Training Schedule
Mid-week training sessions will be held in Hobart (Wednesdays at Rugby Park, 6.30-7.30pm), Launceston (day TBC), and alternating between Burnie and Devonport (day TBC) up until the tournament. As well as that in November we will have weekly state wide team trainings around the state. The confirmed training schedule is:

Wednesday 17th October, Hobart Rugby Park, 6.30-7.30pm
Wednesday 24th October, Hobart Rugby Park, 6.30-7.30pm
Wednesday 31st October, Hobart Rugby Park, 6.30-7.30pm
Friday 2nd November – Club 7s games, Hobart
Saturday 3rd November, Hobart Rugby Park 10.00am-12.00pm
Wednesday 7th November, Hobart Rugby Park, 6.30-7.30pm
Friday 9th November – Club 7s games, Hobart
Saturday 10th November, Burnie (with NW 7s Tournament) Time TBC
Wednesday 14th November, Hobart Rugby Park, 6.30-7.30pm
Friday 16th November – Club 7s games, Hobart
Saturday 17th November, Devonport (with NW 7s Tournament) Time TBC
Wednesday 21st November, Hobart Rugby Park, 6.30-7.30pm
Friday 23rd November – Club 7s games, Hobart
Saturday 24th and Sunday 25th November – U15s Boys and Girls tournament vs South Australia, U17 Girls and Boys, and Men’s inter-squad trials HOBART
Wednesday 28th November, Hobart Rugby Park, 6.30-7.30pm
Friday 30th November – Club 7s games, Hobart
Saturday 1st December, Location TBC
Wednesday 5th December, Hobart Rugby Park, 6.30-7.30pm

For further information please contact us

 

2017 Tasmanian Men’s Sevens Team Report

In 2017 the team finished 12th after a challenging tournament, but scored in every match and took an early lead in their match against the eventual Champions, Queensland Red.
In 2018 the Men’s representative 7s program will be expanded to include more lead-in tournaments to prepare the team for the Championships. More information will be announced towards the end of the Men’s 15s season, in mid 2018.

2017 Tasmanian Men’s 7s Team
Vandy Kanneh (Harlequins)
Connor Mack (Devonport)
Josh Havea (Harlequins)
Brett Bentley (Devonport)
Sidney Fielea (Harlequins)
Tom Ackerly (Harlequins)
James Erwin (AMC)
Jake Harris (Taroona)
Charlie Holmes (Taroona)
Jim Nico (c) (N/A)
Brendan Cox (Devonport)
Luke Burgess (N/A)

National Championships 2017 Results
Day One
Tasmania 5 – Queensland Red 54
Tasmania 7 – New South Wales 48
Tasmania 5 – National Indigenous 36
Day Two
Tasmania 10 – South Australia 26
Tasmania 7 – Northern Territory 24